Select Page

Elections Won: The BJP’s top decision-making body on Monday evening got down to the task of selecting its chief ministers for Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat and decided to dispatch two teams led by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley to Gandhinagar and Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman to Shimla as observers.

The central parliamentary board of the BJP met in Delhi after Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s victory speech where he called the support for the party an indication that the country was ready for “reform agenda as every citizen wants India transformed”.

After the board’s meeting, Health Minister JP Nadda said it had been decided that Arun Jaitley and party general secretary Saroj Pandey would go to Gujarat while Ms Sitharaman and Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar will go to Himachal Pradesh as observers.

“They will speak to the MLAs to elect new leaders of the party,” Mr Nadda said.

pk dhumal
BJP’s chief ministerial candidate PK Dhumal conceded defeat in the Himachal Pradesh elections

Also Read This Story : 26 dead in landslides after Philippine storm: officials

The BJP has managed to retain the Gujarat, the home turf of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah for the fifth consecutive time and wrested Himachal Pradesh from the Congress with nearly two-thirds majority in the just-concluded assembly elections.

But PK Dhumal, who was named as the BJP’s presumptive chief minister at the last minute in a deviation from the party’s strategy in recent state elections, has lost. That gives the party a free hand to name anyone else for the state’s top post. One BJP lawmaker, Varinder Kanwar who won from Kutlehar in Una district, has offered to vacate his seat to let Mr Dhumal contest.

Mr Dhumal, who accepted defeat even before the counting process was completed, hasn’t indicated if he would take up the offer. He is believed to be waiting for a hint from the central leadership to confirm that he was still in the reckoning for the state’s top job.
Read More

Elections Won Elections Won Elections Won